Look ma, I’m blogging!

Sometimes it’s nice to have a bit of confirmation come your way. I’m not the common designer (well, not in my geographical area). As such, instead of being a follower (by default), I try and pave the way that best makes sense. Instead of scratching everyone’s back, as ad and design firms as well as designers themselves do locally, I choose to criticize with the intent of educating on design. It’s not me trying to be a dick. I mean… I can be, I’m sure. And it’s not me being negative, although I know it seems that way. No, in truth I just want to better the design community. I’m not going to reach out and start “showing people how its done.” There’s that quote of “The best way to complain is to make things.” by James Murphy. A local designer quoted that to a friend of mine once. There may be some truth in this. But in answer to that for myself, I say I make things – I just don’t parade them around town like I’m the greatest thing since Paul Rand.

Anyway, what I’m getting at today is that it’s nice to get a confirmation every once in a while that what you preach isn’t a message you alone preach. Here is an article from HOW Design about “Designing the Next Iconic Logo”.

