BFA Symposium: What was it all about?

After relocating my office recently, I’ve had the opportunity to go through some of my work from college. I’m suprised at how much work I did in that last year of school. Apparently my BFA project wasn’t enough to keep me occupied every second of every day. I found the missing original script to my symposium presentation on my BFA project. The presentation was in the form of a Pecha Kucha (20 slides with 20 seconds for each slide). I’m not incredibly fond of this method of presentation – but it has it’s positives.

 “People are designers by nature. Since the beginning of time we have struggled against the natural world and created solutions that ultimately, ironically, mimic her.”

The script I’d written though was fairly large. I see what I’ve edited out and see how that translated to the slides used. The symposium presentation ended up being about the grand scheme of my BFA project. The material within my final thesis product was just… well, a manifesto to a movement that I want to devote my life to.

  In ways, this movement is incredibly hard to describe. Often there isn’t just one right answer or pathway to take. It’s subject to change and accepts multiple views despite the fact that these views counter each other. It accepts that all people are designers by nature. The catch is that all included people must be able to accept that their view alone is not the answer. YES: This applies even to my view. … But really I think this manifesto is the manifesto of Gen X, Y, and Millennials. I hate bringing generations up and blanketing people born in certain years with a definition. But there are things that are, more often than not, TRUE about these generations. This message not only accommodates these truths, but speaks to practical solutions to guide them through the next fifty years at least. My manifesto is stating what will be, even with out my help, obvious to people over the next fifty years. … Mostly.

What are we men without a ship to complete?

 But again, it comes back to all people being designers by nature. All people using collected knowledge to solve problems. What my manifesto declares is that there are ways to think about ourselves and our place in the cosmos that people commonly don’t consider. Life changing ways that reinvigorate intellectual curiosity and wonder in the everyday person. And in this, my presentation discussed innovating innovation based on the problem that fresh aesthetics are not the same as innovating. It discussed how reasoning has died due to the free flow of information and it’s subsequent easy access. I noted how, as designers (particularly as a profession), we should strive to be cross discipline – more than just designers of any one or combination of fields – knowledgable proponents of a field removed from the arts.

 I looked at a tool as the solution to make these things more possible. I considered the Histomap as a tool that attempted to provide large amounts of information which could be three dimensional (in a sense) and how it really failed to be good design whilst being a great idea. I combined this with the need and availability curated ideas – reasoning put into a form or substance for an individual or group of people. And then I presented my tool concept. An “app” was what I was calling it. … And it could be this. But it’s more of a frame with with a complicated definition. Essentially, it accomplishes or aides in accomplishing all the things I’ve discussed in this and the previous paragraphs.*

 So that’s all of… that stuff.

 *Maybe it could be considered as a context engine framework or interactive infograph that can be edited (“curated”) by a user or users and be viewed and/or edited by another user using the same UI. It was, in a simplistic form, meant to act as an app for Museum/Exhibition goers and unable-to-attenders to be able to take the curated exhibit with them. The benefit to the historian/curator of the exhibit (as well as the user) is that people actually can enjoy the benefits of the educational portion without needing to live at the exhibition.

 

